Pyrex, Tupperware & Linens: 3 Things to thrift when your stuff’s in storage

Vintage retro Pyrex Agee 0-COB-400 orange pea

 Op shops, 2nd hand stores & thrifting can be a lifesaver if you’ve packed most of your worldly possessions into storage.

I’m finding that its the most random stuff I’m missing.

Those items you wouldn’t normally think about.

Like baking dishes or containers for leftovers.

Yes, I do actually USE the pyrex and tupperware I’ve found in my Op Shop posts. I just didn’t realise how much I used/need them in my everyday cooking.

A bit of a packing fail on my part.

Food Storage Containers:

Yellow retro vintage Tupperware leftover stacking servalier

Great for leftovers

Unlike last week, when my visit to the thrift shop was totally frivolous, this most recent visit was to help make the house run just a little bit smoother.

Easiyo small yogurt container 250ml

Good for storing all sorts of lunchbox goodies

Off on a Yogurt Tangent here: It will be great to get back to making yogurt again. (Lord knows where that’s hidden in the container) It’s crazy how much this house consumes in a week.  Homemade yogurt truly is the best.  I always seem to find Easiyo makers & containers at the charity shops,  & its a cheap way to try it out. (just google the instructions & buy the mix from the supermarket)  If you have school/pre-school aged kids, you’d be silly not to make your own.  Get the kids to make it themselves, its so easy, even my 2.5yr old can hack it. (apricot is the household fave)

Extra Linens:

Pink floral pillowcase

Snagged by 2 yr old… a sleeping bag for her “babies”

 The Christchurch City Mission Sydenham shop always seems to have a great linen section.  It’s reasonably priced, and pretty good quality.  

I think they get a lot of their donations from Cashmere, Beckenham, Thorrington & Port Hills Households (older, more “established” neighbourhoods)

Sydney Australia 2000 tourist souvenir tea towl

What, no set of Olympic Rings??

Ok, maybe a little bit of a splurge with the watering can.  
Green watering can

I see a collection starting…

The Storage gig hasn’t been too bad: I did win the wife of the year award, when I “found” the coffee grinder and stovetop coffee maker in the unit 🙂


Any items you’ve foolishly squirreled away & then found you really need to make your life run smoother?

 Ever feel like you’re in an episode of Storage Wars & hit the jackpot when you find that ???? lurking in the corner of the shipping container?

I’d love you to share your thrifting strategy or your own op shopping experiences in the comments below.  I’m all about sharing the knowledge, but if you’re an Op Shopping Ninja who thrives on a stealth mission, I get and respect that too!

Linking with the lovely hosts of:

Op Shop Show-Off,   The Nifty Thrifty,   Thriftasaurus,  Remnant, Thrift Share Monday, Magpie Monday

If you think this post rocks, then I’d love you to leave a comment, like on Facebook, or retweet it on Twitter

18 responses to “Pyrex, Tupperware & Linens: 3 Things to thrift when your stuff’s in storage

  1. We have an easy-yo maker too although I prefer the stu made in my thrifted heated contraption.

    I’m also remembering what a royal pain it is when you’re moving and can’t find anything!

    • Hey Liz, I find the easiyo good for beginners and kids. Have thought about getting into some more seriou stuff like cheese making, but it’s a time thing at the moment. 🙂

  2. i like that you’ve named a place, since i’m moving back to CHCH in Nov and i love rifling thru op shops!.its my intention to have a good read thru the CHCH blogs i’ve discovered via opshop show off and get a nice list of places to visit once i’m settled.

  3. Hi Rach, whoa, big move! Have you decided on a suburb? I typically let people know where I find my goodies. I figure the more people who buy from the charity shops the better. Saves $$, saves the planet by reusing or repurposing goods, puts $$ back into the local community, and you don’t wind up being a cookie cutter copy of your next door neighbour!

  4. My best advice is to know what you’re looking for before you go. Otherwise I find myself looking at too many, “oh maybe that would be useful/fun/wonderful” things that are actually just going to clutter up my house waiting for me to do something with them. I also adore EasiYo. I make a thickened yogurt with it – just drain it overnight through some cloths and its like a curd cheese/marscapone/cream cheese. Mmm fantastic.

    • Liking the idea of the thickened yogurt…have a housewarming to go to this week and was planning on bringing a blueberry cheeseball with biscuits/crackers. You just gave me a good idea for the “cheese” cheers Angela!

  5. My thrifting strategy is “little and often”. A few quick minutes in the shop but try and go a few times a week. I also only buy things i LOVE rather than things I like. xx

  6. In terms of thrifting advice – well I’m a pretty poor Ninja – you’ve just mentioned my second favourite ‘secret’ op shop of all time in this post! Seriously, my advice would be what Angela said – know what you’re looking for. My Mum always said “Its only a bargain if you have a use for it” and truly I try very hard to restrict myself to what I need rather than what ever takes my fancy!

    I love the shape of the watering can – its epic.

    • Funny thing about the watering can… It’s corporate swag. “genworth financial” is stamped on the other side. As for thrifting, in my thrifting budget I allocate a portion for my list items (ie a floral sifter!) and a portion for stuff that catches my eye

  7. a watering can collection-i love it and shall keep my eyes peeled for you! it is a pain having everything in storage, hope it’s not too long now until you get to settle in your own place x

  8. Cheers Max, I think the reason I’m drawn to the watering cans is because I also like to garden and used to cringe at the $$ of watering cans in the hardware shops in the Wairarapa.

  9. I run in and run out and try to do this a couple of times a week – I usually know exactly the sorts of things I’m looking for so that helps and will only really buy something that immediately grabs me… If I have to think about it I tend to leave it behind. Also Heather, didn’t realise you weren’t a follower on my blog (oops!) but you won the Zebra print. If you send me your details I can get it off to you 🙂

    • That hesitation is a sign…go with your gut…it rarely lets you down! It’s how I wound up with an awesome tropical deck chair on the first day it snowed here in Chch! Will send you me info by email (I’ve been following your blog via Kiwi Mummy Blogs) 🙂

  10. Pingback: Op Shopping: What’s Your Thrifting Budget? | This Mum Rocks·

  11. Pingback: Op Shop Finds: Can you help me with this Phoenix dish? | This Mum Rocks·

Leave a comment