Op Shop Finds: A Bread Bin gets a new lease on life

Retro vintage thrifted orange Willow bread bin op shop thrifted charity finds

I’ve wanted a bread bin for ages…

A retro bread bin has been on my thrifting wishlist for yonks.

My first op shopping trip of 2014 started out great.  

Thought I’d ride my bike to the shops & get some exercise to boot.

 (also limit how much I could take home)

Cost: $5 – it has 2 small cracks at the hinges

Fitted great into my bike basket

Intended Use: umm bread storage in the pantry?!?

Bring it home… and it gets hijacked by the 2 yr old!!!

Actual Use:

Orange vintage retro thrifted bread bin shoe box op shop thrift finds

Not quite what I had planned for this breadbin…

Once she spied it, there was no way my toddler was letting me use it as a breadbin.

All of a sudden she decided she was going to be Little Miss Organised.

Not that I’m complaining  🙂

Have you picked up an Op Shop find with a specific purpose in mind, only to find its end use is something completely different?  What’s your craziest repurposed item?

I’d love you to share your thrifting strategy or your own op shopping experiences in the comments below.  I’m all about sharing the knowledge, but if you’re an Op Shopping Ninja who thrives on a stealth mission, I get and respect that too!

Also, a happy 2014 to everyone.  FYI, the posts will be a bit sporadic over the next couple months.  Our house relocation project is shifting into high gear (get it, shifting..haha!)

If you know of a furnished place for available for approx 6 weeks from Feb 15th in the Halswell/CHCH South area that won’t cost us a kidney, I’d love to hear from you.

Linking with the lovely hosts of:

Op Shop Show-Off,   The Nifty Thrifty,   Thriftasaurus,  Remnant, Thrift Share Monday, Magpie Monday

If you think this post rocks, then I’d love you to leave a comment, like on Facebook, or retweet it on Twitter

8 responses to “Op Shop Finds: A Bread Bin gets a new lease on life

  1. Happy new year Heather! now, that is a cute one, i can see why your wee girl snaffled it!
    good luck with the house hunt (if you get stuck my mil’s tenant just moved out, likely available in feb/march but 5 mins from rangiora) x

    • Cheers Max, love the tea towel dress. Am also secretly stalking your foraging blog 🙂 have several friends in Wairarapa who are right into this. Am working thru jamming and saucing some wee red plums from our section at the moment. Looks like I’ll be taking miss H and I out to the west coast for a couple weeks during the post shift rents/pre running water phase. Will be keen to see how the granity community orchard is faring. It looks impressive and should be fruiting.

  2. You finally found your bread bin! Though now it looks as though you’re going to need another one. I am still keeping an eye out for you and if I find something similar I’ll be in touch.

    • Hi Liz, the funniest part is that she also wanted to use it as a suitcase. We had to take it with us we went to the shops. Love your crochet squares btw…I vote for a darker coloured edging. 🙂

Leave a comment