Op Shop Finds: Cresta Ware, Crown Ovenware & a retro reclining deck chair

Op shop finds thrifting yellow deck chair car

It snowed and I went troppo at the op shops

 I think the guy running the Rowley St. Charity Barn thought I was nuts. And I’m picking like most op shop and thrift store staff/volunteers this guy has seen all sorts.  The first snow fell in Christchurch this year and I headed out op shopping.  What did I  spy that caught my thrifting fancy ?

retro lounge lawn reclining chair tropical yellow

I’m just mad about Saffron….then again, I might just be plain mad!

 Who knew snowy weather could spur on thrifting of bright, cheery, sunny items? This fab retro reclining lawn chair was hidden under a pile of sleeping bags

(which I imagine most op shoppers look for at this time of year to stock up emergency kits.)

op shop thrift finds crown ovenware
Good counter balance to the grey days ahead

I don’t know if it was the hubby or the perky red flowers on the Crown Ovenware that were whispering

“pick me, I’m the perfect size for an apple rhubarb crumble.”

Op shop finds thrifting retro cresta ware melamine yello

Cresta Ware: perfect for the beach or the bunny hills

“…And it was all yellow”

Over at the Addington Salvation Army Thrift shop that is.  (This Lincoln road op shop is one of my favourites.)

An incomplete 15 piece picnic set might seem unusual for some, but it’s actually just right for this family of 3 & fits perfectly into our picnic chiller bag.  Glad to have this ticked off my op shopping list as it’s been there for yonks.

Do you suddenly start thrifting ski gear when the temperature soars?

Pick up ice buckets for bbq’s at a time when they’re better used in igloo construction?

I’d love you to share your thrifting strategy or your own weather related op shopping experiences in the comments below.  I’m all about sharing the knowledge, but if you’re one of those Op shopping ninjas who thrives on a stealth mission, I get and respect that too!

Linking with the lovely hosts of:

Op Shop Show-Off,   The Nifty Thrifty,   Thriftasaurus,  Remnant, Thrift Share Monday, Magpie Monday

If you think this post rocks, then I’d love you to leave a comment, like on Facebook, or retweet it on Twitter

14 responses to “Op Shop Finds: Cresta Ware, Crown Ovenware & a retro reclining deck chair

    • Hi Melissa, I know almost nothing about Crown Ovenware. It was the colour that caught my eye. Like a burst of sunshine on a snowy day. The red floral pattern kinda reminded me of West Coast Canadian First Nations artwork (though it probably has not relation to it whatsoever!)

  1. It’s always best to buy out of season – you get great bargains. I LOVE that you bought a sun lounger in the snow!

    I had a pink flowery one I bought at a car boot sale, used for a couple of years then sold on at a massive profit on ebay. Happy days!

  2. Hiya Liz, I’m definately up for out of season shopping: it makes me feel so organised. Kinda like those people who do their Xmas shopping in July.
    Am now on the hunt for some complimentary pieces for this chair. Should be interesting! Love that you were able to pick up your pink chair, get some good use from it and then pass it on for someone else to enjoy. That’s what I love about thrifting.

  3. ha ha, that’s brilliant! i do find that even though plenty of op-shops hoard and put out stuff seasonally, i always find my best and cheapest knitwear in summer. which gives me the thought that maybe i should be perusing the summer dresses today, on this wet, cold day!

    • Both my parents and I play off the different seasons when we visit the North/South Hemispheres. They’ve picked up some great cheaper merino thermals, and I’ve managed to get some fab rain jackets designed to withstand BCs crazy west coast rain.

    • Hi Indigo Violet, It’s the perfect size for a small crumble or veggie side dish. Who am I kidding, veggies over dessert, I know which one will win out in this house. Id like to add a couple more to add to the kitchen workhorses I already have. Love your Mum’s hat pin collection. 🙂

  4. WOW I love all those sunshiney yellow goodies!! That recliner looks brilliant in the snow – what a beauty! You are really chanelling summer in this post! Love how the picnic set was perfect for your family size – how cool!!!

    • Hi Linda, its pretty funny actually, as I don’t normally go for yellows. I’m definitely an orange kinda girl. Gotta say, am loving all the turquoise and aqua finds you’ve posted recently. Do you think it’s the proximity to those great beaches brightening up your region? I noticed when living in the BOP they seemed to embrace bright colours more.

  5. Pingback: Op Shop Finds: Leather Belts for Emma Makes I am notoriously hard on my clothes and accessories and Emma’s bags make the grade. | This Mum Rocks·

  6. Thanks for sharing superb informations. Your web site is very cool. I am impressed by the details that you have on this blog. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this website page, will come back for extra articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found just the information I already searched everywhere and simply could not come across. What a perfect web-site.

  7. Pingback: Op Shop Finds: Vintage Fire King & Retro Pyrex | This Mum Rocks·

  8. Pingback: Op Shopping: What’s Your Thrifting Budget? | This Mum Rocks·

Leave a Reply

